New employee: Astrid Refsgaard, Communications Consultant

You can read about Astrid's work areas, professional background, leisure activities etc. here.

Astrid Refsgaard

Why did you choose to work at the Department of Business Development and Technology?
One of the things that appealed to me about the position is that, as the department's communication consultant, I work at the intersection between research dissemination and the recruitment of future students. In addition, I have a great professional as well as personal interest in business and organisational development, strategy and management, and I enjoy working with a broad target group of stakeholders.

What is your area of ​​work?
Among my tasks, one is to highlight all the exciting things that are happening at the department and contribute to increasing the awareness of Aarhus University in Herning. My first weeks here at the department have been really nice, and I look forward to getting to know the many internal and external actors better, ranging from colleagues to companies in the area, to the local press, the communication team at Campus Aarhus etc. – and, not least, the students.

What is your background?
I graduated in 2013 from Aarhus University with a bachelor's degree in German and business communication as well as a master's degree in corporate communication. Since then, I have worked with strategic communication in the private and public sectors. In addition, I have been the co-founder of three companies, and from 2020 to 2022, I was self-employed in my own communications company.

Please tell us a bit about yourself, your family and your leisure activities
My boyfriend and I have a 7-year-old daughter, a 5-year-old son and a giant Goldendoodle. The latter is a crossbred dog; a Golden Retriever crossed with a King Poodle. After I had lived abroad and in Aarhus for some time, my boyfriend and I moved together in Copenhagen, and later we moved "home" to Jelling where I was born and raised. My leisure activities include spending time with family and friends as well as activities such as paddle tennis and growing our "wild garden". In addition, I have a passion for design and interior decoration.