Portrait: Dimitrios Apostolou

Dimitrios Apostolou is from Greece and is working with how to assess a portable hydrogen production-storage system able to refuel hydrogen based bicycles.

Dimitrios Apostolou

Dimitrios Apostolou is a PhD Fellow at BTECH, BSS AU
EngTech Research Group

 Why did you choose to work at the Department of Business Development and Technology?
Firstly, I believe that Aarhus University and specifically BSS is among the best University departments in Europe.
Because of my work background I wanted to combine engineering with business. Hence, I decided that the Business Development and Technology sector would be ideal for doing my PhD research and that’s why I chose to proceed with the application.

• What is your area of expertise and what will you be doing here?
I am an electrical engineer and for the last years, I have focused on Renewable Energy Sources (RES) energy storage via hydrogen technologies. My research interests include hydrogen production via water electrolysis supplied from RES, and hydrogen storage for later use - either for grid support or transportation purposes.
During my PhD, I am going to assess a portable hydrogen production-storage system able to refuel hydrogen based bicycles. It would be rather interesting to include data and information from both the engineering and business point of view.

• What is your educational background?
I graduated from Piraeus University of Applied Sciences in Greece as an Electrical Engineer, and I have an MSc in Energy, focusing on RES and hydrogen based technologies.

• What have you done before?
After acquiring my Bachelor's diploma, I worked in the private sector as an electrical technician during the installation of music concerts’ facilities and as an electrical engineer in the Public Power Corporation S.A. Greece. Since 2013, I have been a researcher in the area of RES in conjunction with hydrogen technologies.

• Please tell us a bit about yourself, your family and your leisure activities.
I am 38 years old and was born in Athens, Greece where I have also lived during the past few years. My parents live also in a suburb of Athens. I am also married to a wonderful wife who is supporting me in all matters.My leisure activities include: watching movies in good company, going to the gym, travelling abroad for vacations, and going out for food or coffee.