Holiday registration

Applying to all employees at the department, accrued holiday with pay is preregistered at mitHR. In practice, this means that your holiday and special holidays will be set as follows:

Holiday (accrued from 1 September 2023 to 31 August 2024):

  • 4 days at Christmas and New Year (22 December and 27-29 December 2023)
  • Friday after Ascension Day (10 May 2024)
  • 15 days for the summer holidays (weeks 28-30 2024)
  • 5 days in week 42 (14-18 October 2024)

Special holidays (accrued from 1 January 2022 to 31 December 2022):

  • 2 days in week 7 (15-16 February 2024)
  • 3 days before Easter (25-27 March 2024)

If you are newly employed and have not earned entitlement to special holidays, you can either take your special holidays without pay or shorten the length of your summer holiday.

Holiday accrued in the above period must be taken from 1 September 2023 to 23 December 2024. Special holidays are earned in a calendar year and can be taken from 1 May to 30 April in the following year.

Danish public holidays and paid days off at AU:

  • See all Danish public holidays and paid days off at AU in this overview.

If you wish to take your holiday on dates other than the preregistered, please contact Inger Kristensen or request a change of registration in mitHR (must be done at least five working days before the start of the holiday and not retrospectively). If you change the preregistered days, please remember to enter the same number of days.

If you do not take a minimum of three weeks’ summer holiday (the main holiday), a written agreement must be made with the head of department, stating when the holiday will be taken instead.