You are here: AU  Staff Departments  BTECH PhD Procedure for the appointment of PhD assessment committees

Procedure for the appointment of PhD assessment committees

Appointment of PhD assessment committees

  1. It is usually the supervisor who proposes the assessment committee members (two external, of which at least one must be from abroad, and one internal).
  2. BEFORE the assessment committee is submitted for approval, the supervisor must coordinate with the Head of Talent (currently Torben Andersen) or with either of BTECH’s two members of the Social Science and Business programme committee (currently Torben Andersen and Allan Gross). These do not approve the committee, but can help assess whether the members are eligible according to the impartiality requirements. They may also help appoint relevant members, if needed.
  3. All committees must be approved by the Head of the Social Science and Business programme (currently Torsten Kolind). The recommendation letter must include the following: a) presentation of each committee member’s academic relevance and b) presentation of whether each committee member meets the current impartiality requirements (see below).

    When submitting the recommendation letter to Torsten Kolind, please be sure to cc the following persons:
    Head of Talent (currently Torben Andersen)
    The PhD secretary (currently Christina Nørgaard Kuhr)
  4. Once the committee is approved by the Head of Programme, the Head of Programme will forward it to the Aarhus BSS Graduate School for final approval by the Head of the Aarhus BSS Graduate School.

Impartiality requirements

'Members of assessment committees for the assessment of PhD dissertations are considered non-impartial (i.e., disqualified), cf. the rules of eligibility, if they have previously been part of a committee for the assessment of the PhD student, including 1st  and 2nd  year PhD presentation committees, co-authors or the like. Information about the members of the 1st and 2nd year PhD presentation committees is not generally available to the Aarhus BSS Graduate School and will therefore not be detected in a check of impartiality. It is therefore the responsibility of the supervisor to make this information available in the recommendation letter.

Members of the same research group as the PhD student are also considered non-impartial (i.e., disqualified), as they are assumed to be familiar with the student and the project in advance.

In addition to the above, normal rules of eligibility apply, as in the appointment of assessment committees in connection with recruitment.

The above applies unless very strong arguments can be presented to the contrary.' 

38440 / i28